Southwest Fair Housing Council is a full service fair housing organization dedicated to enforcing the Fair Housing Act.The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting, buying, or securing financing for any housing. The prohibitions specifically cover discrimination because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability and the presence of children. Depending on your location in Arizona, you may also be protected from housing discrimination based on your gender identity, sexual orientation, age, marital status, or ancestry.

Sign up for our email list below to receive all the latest news and outreach materials from SWFHC! *
Sign up for our email list below to receive all the latest news and outreach materials from SWFHC!


Spread the word!  It is not too late to apply for the Section 8 Wait List in the City of Phoenix. Section 8 vouchers offer an opportunity for safe, decent and affordable housing. After filing a joint complaint with the Arizona Fair Housing Center through HUD, the City of Phoenix has agreed to open the application for their Section 8 wait list until August 19th. If you are interested in applying or know someone who is, further information can be found at the links below. 

Press release

Wait List Application



AZ Fair Housing Partnership event 2-10.jpg

Education and Outreach

We are dedicated to raising awareness of fair housing law and educating the community about their rights. Our activities include classes, workshops, presentations, and informational tables at events. Contact us to schedule an activity or you can attend one of the events on our calendar




Don't Borrow Trouble

Don’t Borrow Trouble® (DBT) is a HUD certified counseling agency and a program of Southwest Fair Housing Council. It is an unbiased, non-profit agency dedicated to helping those in financial trouble. DBT® that knows the programs, products and people throughout Arizona. 



Do you feel that you have been the victim of housing discrimination or know someone who has? If so, please contact us. We work with housing providers and tenants to resolve issues of illegal discrimination.

Help SWFHC eliminate housing discrimination by learning how to get involved today!



Landlord and Tenant Resource Center

The Landlord and Tenant Resource Center (LTRC) is a self-help resource center which aids those who may have specific Arizona landlord and tenant issues and/or questions.

Research and Reports

SWFHC works with jurisdictions and groups across the country to identify and address fair housing issues through research and data. Reports and information about our consulting services can be found on the Research and Reports page.

Contact to learn about our consulting services.



Affirmatively Furthering Fair Housing

Due to the recent developments and focus that HUD has placed on Affirmatively Furthering Fair Housing (AFFH) SWFHC has gathered some resources and material compiled by the National Fair Housing Alliance