Housing Discrimination

SWFHC is dedicated to eliminating housing discrimination and assisting victims of housing discrimination in exercising their rights. The Fair Housing Act protects people from adverse treatment in any housing transaction based upon seven protected classes: race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability, and familial status. Depending on where you reside in Arizona, you may also be protected on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, ancestry, age, and marital status.

Contact SWFHC today if you feel as though you have been a victim of housing discrimination. Examples include:

  • Being told you cannot live somewhere because you have children

  • Being denied housing because of a disability

  • Being forced to pay a pet deposit for a service animal

  • Feeling as though you were treated differently while seeking housing due to your race or national origin

  • Being sexually harassed by a landlord or neighbor

Many housing disputes are not fair housing violations. SWFHC has developed the "Get Help" section of its website to help people in other types of housing dilemmas. These types of disputes may include:

  • A dispute over the return of a deposit

  • Difficulty in getting repairs made by a landlord

  • Non-functioning air conditioning and heating

  • Bedbug infestations

Please utilize the links on the left side of this page for additional information, organizations, and legal resources that may help you. If you are a tenant involved in a dispute with a landlord, please see the Landlord - Tenant Resource Center for a comprehensive list of resources.